Rob Ryan has some thoughts on his defense

Cowboys Defensive Coordinator has some interesting thoughts about his defense, read here.

After spending the 2011 season watching his defense finish 14th overall and 23rd against the pass, Dallas Cowboys defensive coordinator Rob Ryan has decided to go back to the basics and teach his defensive scheme at a slower pace.

“I thought our guys played hard,” said Ryan, adding that he won’t simplify things for the players. “We weren’t always smart. We weren’t always on the same page. We want to eliminate some bad football.

“When we look back at ourselves and re-evaluate, I think I started a little too fast and put in the accelerated program without the English 101, which I always struggled with. So we are excited about this. We’ve got players. We’ve always had players. I think we need to take the time to re-teach everything, to get our fundamentals here.”

Communication issues in the secondary were one of the problems plaguing the defense last season. Too many times players were pointing at each other after allowing big plays.

“I think first of all, it starts with me,” Ryan said. “I think I put a little too much in and too fast. And we didn’t have any basics. We had no foundation. … Everything was new. I am not making any excuses for why we did bad or whatever. I’m terrible. The bottom line is this helps. It’s like getting a tutor. If my kid gets a tutor, he gets 90s in math. If he doesn’t, 40s. We need 90s or 100s and that’s what he’s going to get.”

The problem is the same issues were around before Rob Ryan arrived in Dallas. With some new players in the mix and an entire offseason program I don’t want to hear any excuses during the 2012 season.

These are professionals. When you are beat physically I can understand it because you did your best but the man across from you was more physically ready for the challenge. But losing games because you failed to study all week and learn what your responsibilities were in the defense are unacceptable.

About dcfanaticsblog

Love the Dallas Cowboys.
This entry was posted in rob ryan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

