Cowboys meet with Upshaw, but not with Jenkins

Seems Courtney Upshaw has met with the Cowboys, read here.

Upshaw has great size at 6-1 1/2 and 273 pounds (he was listed on the roster at 265 but weighed in eight pounds over that Monday morning). He’s built to play near the line of scrimmage. He’s also shown great speed off the ball this week in practices.

And get this, he’s a big DeMarcus Ware fan.

“With him playing down at Troy, I kind of kept up with him during his career,” Upshaw said. “The way he gets after the quarterback is kind of something that I try to mold my game after, guys like him who get to the quarterback and who are relentless.”

Upshaw was asked if he’s a better fit in the NFL in a 4-3 defense or a 3-4, such as the Cowboys play.

“I’m a better fit for any team that wants to pick me,” Upshaw quipped. “My strength is me being able to do whatever a team asks me to do and to do it to the best of my ability.”

Upshaw said he hasn’t been bothered this week by practicing in front of hundreds of NFL scouts and coaches who are all judging his every move.

“Not at all. With me, you just have to go out and perform,” Upshaw said. “If you get nervous about what the scouts are saying you’re not going to perform to the best of your ability and this is like a job interview. You want to perform.”

Upshaw said that no matter where he ends up after the draft, he won’t make any major purchase with his new money.

“With me, I’m just going to get an apartment and probably a nice car and try to invest it and save up,” Upshaw said. “I’m the type of guy, I have a little girl and two little sisters I want to take care of. It’s no big investments for me when I get that money.”

I think quite a few teams will be meeting with Upshaw this Spring.

I hope the Cowboys are not desperate enough to go after Janoris Jenkins and they seemed to have a meeting with him and then all of a sudden they didn’t, go here.

The Cowboys have a scheduled meeting with troubled yet talented cornerback Janoris Jenkins of North Alabama for Tuesday night here at the Senior Bowl.

Update: Jenkins, after meeting with the Oakland Raiders, said the meeting with Cowboys might not happen.

“No big deal, though,” he said. “It might happen.”

Jenkins, was kicked off the Florida football team for various offenses, including being arrested twice within a three-month span on drug-related charges. He also got into a fight and was arrested and charged with a misdemeanor affray and resisting arrest without violence.

“I just go in as who I am,” said Jenkins, who has spoken to five NFL teams. “I tell them what happened and be honest because I did it. I made a mistake and I take full responsibility for it. I’m sure I have to deal with it. I’m looking forward to it. I have nothing to hide. I just go in and they ask me the question and I give it to them and be honest. I just look them in the eye and let them know I can be honest.”

Stay away from the knuckleheads Jerry. Who cares how talented they are because there are plenty of talented players to choose from that aren’t morons.

About dcfanaticsblog

Love the Dallas Cowboys.
This entry was posted in 2012 nfl draft, 2012 senior bowl, courtney upshaw. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cowboys meet with Upshaw, but not with Jenkins

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just like they stay away from Aaron Hendrez too. This guy can play. He held AJ Green, J. Jones and A. Jeffiers under 70 yards receiving without a dominated pass rush.

  2. 4life says:

    They need 2 interview Jenkins& Kirkpatrick these are young men ,give these brothers a chance!!!!

Leave a Reply

